Itineraries and ancient city centers among art, monuments and sanctuaries.
Where: Ardesio (BG)
Distance from hotel: 25 minutes drive
Many indeed are the shrines in the area, and the most fascinating and rich in works of art are: the Sanctuary of the Madonna delle Grazie, located in the heart of the historic center of Ardesio, high Seriana Valley, which is popular for the richness of the decorations.
Where: Colzate (BG)
Distance from hotel: 27 minutes drive
Other very impressive place of worship in the Seriana Valley is the sanctuary of St. Patrick, erected on a rock near Colzate. The building, housing an ancient church of the XIV century, is at the center of folk tales and legends related to the existence of a deep well, which descended from the sanctuary to the river Serio.
Where: Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXII (BG)
Distance from hotel: 60 minutes by car
Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli came to light in a very simple room where there is still the picture of the Madonna, which belonged to his parents, their bed and furniture. In the adjacent room, where the sisters slept, in addition to the clothes of Roncalli, there are still furnitures of him, such as a desk where the young seminarist began to write his spiritual autobiography: The Journal of the soul. So we arrive at the Seminary of the Pontifical Institute for Foreign Missions (PIME) where is a faithful venerated bronze statue which reproduces the life-size figure of the Pope, the destination of all pilgrims. Annexed to the Church of the seminar there are the rooms with the testimony of the grace received by pilgrims from all over the world.
Where: Gandino (BG)
Distance from hotel: 35 minutes drive
One of the most interesting and original monuments of the land of Bergamo. It is a building that has undergone profound changes over the time: it lies on the ancient church of the thirteenth century, rebuilt in 1421 and later expanded in 1469 to define itself as a new and original architectural work where styles come together in a unique composition. The radical transformation of the old building, part of which is combined with the new one, began in 1623 and ended in 1640 with the construction of the amazing central octagonal dome that rests on the side walls of the field and on the four polylobed pillars made with local stone.